Apologies & You’ll Want to Read These Responses

13621726_648531008628697_1187229067_o

13632649_648530998628698_361845333_o

A month ago I was inspired to offer a reader round up on the craziest things done in the name of resistance training in the pool (read the original post here). Today, I’m offering two additional awesome responses that I totally missed at the time of my original call out (and only just found today, August 22) due my Messenger incompetence. My sincere apologies, Tiffany and Alicia, I only hope you’re still out there reading away, especially because it’s so fun to hear about training Down Under and am now hoping that Tiffany will update us on how her summer of long distance OW swimming went! Finally, I must also include a shout out to one of my former Delmar Dolfins, Mike Nyilis, who prompted today’s “I need to sort this Messenger thing out STAT” lesson (one thing I learned? Turn alerts ON) by sending me a message.

 

From Alicia:

“We did quite a bit in the ‘80s in North Queensland, Australia:

  1. Swam in sports shoes
  2. Did kick with metal bars either across chest or held in streamline.
  3. Did 3km backstroke with fins and a bucket tied on a rubber rope tied around our waist
  4. Same thing with 6 big sponges instead of a bucket
  5. Rubber bands connected to the end of the pool.
  6. Pulling exercise with another person holding our legs.

That’s about it. I actually loved all of those as it’s a good challenge.”

And, from Tiffany, who totally knocked it out of the park by including pictures of herself and her cool, garage training pool!

“Does resistance training in a training tank in my garage out of necessity due to not having a pool to swim in qualify for the intent of you blog? I live in the Mojave Desert of Southern California, and there are only three swimming pools within a 100-mile radius of my house, and two of them are 60 miles from my house. One of the pools that is 60 miles from my house is at Fort Irwin Army Base where I work, but it was closed from December 2015 to June 2016 for renovation (and has limited hours from 0600-1200 when it isn’t closed, and I have to start work between 0800-0830, so I was limited to only 1-2 hours of swimming after my 70-minute commute in the morning. The other pool is the Apple Valley Civic Center Park Aquatic Center in Apple Valley, CA, which is 25 miles from my house in the opposite direction of work, but the hours are so limited and I spend so much time driving 60 miles each way to work at Fort Irwin every day that I can only swim there on Saturdays when it is only open from 0700-0930AM. The other pool is at Edwards AFB and is 60 miles from my house and 100 miles from work, so is not an option for me. So when the pool at Fort Irwin closed for renovation in December, I had nowhere to train except for 1.5 hours on Saturday a.m. at the Apple Valley pool. This is a serious dilemma for a marathon swimmer who has multiple planned marathon swims starting in April (Swim Around Lido Key, SCAR Arizona, to name a few of the early season swims that I had planned). My husband was kind enough to clear out his tools, etc., from half of the garage so that I could put a training tank. I can’t afford a $15,000 Endless Pool, and being in the Army and having to move every 2-3 years, needed something much more portable and much less expensive. The answer came in the form of an iPool3. This pool is designed to accommodate a resistance band. My husband installed it with a heater, so I was able to control the temperature to maintain it at 65F-68F, which would help me acclimate to the temperatures that I would encounter at SCAR in April. I didn’t set any records or even finish the 17 mile Apache Lake swim on the third day of SCAR, but I was able to maintain enough endurance to complete three 8+ mile swims in April to start my season of open water marathon swimming, two back-to-back 10K swims in May, and have several more planned, including the Portland Bridge Swim (11 mile) next weekend, the Great Moose Migration Dam2Dam Swim (11 mile) on August 6, Swim The Kingdom Week (42+ miles) in August in Vermont, and Swim The Suck in Tennessee in October.

Apologies & You’ll Want to Read These Responses

Leave a Reply

